An introduction to the writers of the Grimdark group part 2

Next part of the introduction! Not everyone writes grimdark and not everyone is a man. In fact there are quite a few female authors out there, women I admire greatly. There are quite a lot of complaints when it comes to the lack of publicity for female authors and I do sometimes feel it’s a male dominated world. So it’s definitely time for a change!

People often think every female author writes crap like Twilight or Fifty Shades of blergh, this is not true in fact all the authors introduced today write beautiful horror and fantasy, some a little darker than most of the readers are used to.

So without further ado here are the powerful women of the Grimdark group!

 

I’ll start with Teresa Frohock the author of Miserere: An Autumn Tale and Los Nefilim, Miserere is a dark fantasy novel and Los Nefilim is speculative fiction. I love this woman she’s smart, talented, strong and gives her unfiltered opinion on many subjects on her blog as well as on Facebook.

https://www.tfrohock.com/

26029556

Three brilliant novellas. One fantastic story.

Collected together for the first time, T. Frohock’s three novellas—In Midnight’s Silence, Without Light or Guide, and The Second Death—brings to life the world of Los Nefilim, Spanish Nephilim that possess the power to harness music and light in the supernatural war between the angels and daimons. In 1931, Los Nefilim’s existence is shaken by the preternatural forces commanding them … and a half-breed caught in-between.

Diago Alvarez, a singular being of daimonic and angelic descent, is pulled into the ranks of Los Nefilim in order to protect his newly-found son. As an angelic war brews in the numinous realms, and Spain marches closer to civil war, the destiny of two worlds hangs on Diago’s actions. Yet it is the combined fates of his lover, Miquel, and his young son, Rafael, that weighs most heavily on his soul.

Lyrical and magical, Los Nefilim explores whether moving towards the light is necessarily the right move, and what it means to live amongst the shadows.

 

Next up the lovely Chantal Noordeloos! Finally a Dutch author worth blogging about sure, sure we have plenty of others but not a single I personally like. She graduated from the Norwich School of Art and Design in 1999 and now lives with her family in The Hague. She loves boardgames and spends her free time drawing, writing and gaming. Chantal writes horror and paranormal fiction. Coyote is her first big project and 2 books in the series haven been published so far.

http://www.chantalnoordeloos.info/

18231890

No one knows where or when the mysterious rips will appear, but from them, Outlanders walk the earth, leaving chaos in their wake.
Coyote, a charismatic bounty hunter, travels the land with her enigmatic partner, Caesar. Together –with the help of magic and technology—the unlikely duo tracks down these dangerous criminals from different worlds. Along the way, Coyote discovers a secret that threatens to shatter everything she believes about herself, her father, and her sworn enemy, James Westwood.

Whether Outlander or inner demons, some things can’t be solved with a six shooter

 

We move on to Sarah Cushaway she’s currently working on a  dark scifi/fantasy western series called A Lesser Dark. Her first book Salt in the Water is out now and she’s working hard on the sequel called Ghosts in the Glass.

http://ourwriteside.com/author-sarah-cushaway/

31950623

There are a thousand ways to die in the desert– desperate outlaws, deadly predators, murderous elements, and betrayal. . .

Kaitar Besh, a veteran scout as legendary for his cynicism as his skills, is ordered to brave the deadly Shy’war-Anquai desert one last time. Escorting Leigh Enderi– a greenhorn Enforcer with a reputation as shady as his own– he soon realizes the ghosts of his past have come to haunt more than his nightmares.

When the mission breaks down in the wake of bitter hatred and mistrust, even Kaitar’s fabled skills may not be enough to bring them home again. Stranded in the red wasteland without contact, food, or water, they uncover a betrayal that could bring all they hold dear crumbling to the dust. . . and tear down the wall of lies surrounding them.

 

Well hello debut novelist Anna Smith-Spark! Her debut will be published in 2017 by Harper-Voyager and the hype is real! We call her the queen of grimdark. Anna loves epic fantasy, grimdark and historical military fiction (and freakishly high heels). Her debut is called the Court of Broken Knives which is book 1 in her series Empires of Dust.

http://courtofbrokenknives.org/

sword one

Perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and R Scott Bakker, The Court of Broken Knives is the explosive debut by one of grimdark fantasy’s most exciting new voices.

They’ve finally looked at the graveyard of our Empire with open eyes. They’re fools and madmen and like the art of war. And their children go hungry while we piss gold and jewels into the dust.

In the richest empire the world has ever known, the city of Sorlost has always stood, eternal and unconquered. But in a city of dreams governed by an imposturous Emperor, decadence has become the true ruler, and has blinded its inhabitants to their vulnerability. The empire is on the verge of invasion – and only one man can see it.

Haunted by dreams of the empire’s demise, Orhan Emmereth has decided to act. On his orders, a company of soldiers cross the desert to reach the city. Once they enter the Palace, they have one mission: kill the Emperor, then all those who remain. Only from ashes can a new empire be built.

The company is a group of good, ordinary soldiers, for whom this is a mission like any other. But the strange boy Marith who walks among them is no ordinary soldier. Marching on Sorlost, Marith thinks he is running away from the past which haunts him. But in the Golden City, his destiny awaits him – beautiful, bloody, and more terrible than anyone could have foreseen.

 

Also working on her debut is Alicia Wanstall-Burke. Alicia Wanstall-Burke began her storytelling journey at 15, writing in her spare time while she worked in coal mining and completed a teaching degree. Over the course of a decade, she developed a manuscript which caught the eye of a UK publisher in 2014. Since then she has worked with the publisher to develop a new story, Blood of Heirs. Alicia is currently studying a Diploma of History/Ancient History, and wrangles a cat, two dogs and a four-year-old red head in her spare time. As there’s no cover for her book yet I’ll randomly insert some random art

https://aliciawanstallburke.com/author/aliciawanstallburke/

Image result for sibling rivalry fantasy art

Blood of Heirs is a fast paced, dark epic fantasy which follows the stories of two young people who are the heirs to their father’s lands. When their lives are changed forever by forces beyond their control, they must fight for their lives and their futures against enemies that are both human and the stuff of nightmares. It is the first in a planned trilogy, and will be followed by Legacy of Ghosts and Empire of Shadows.

 

Last up for today is Deborah A. Wolf born in Alaska and having worked for the U.S. Army she’s no stranger to barbaric life. In her own words she says, she’s the barbarian feminist bitch author your father warned you about, and she writes books that double as melee weapons. THE DRAGON’S LEGACY (Titan Books) debuts April 2017. She also has a short story in our very own Evil is a Matter of Perspective a collection of art and stories by the people behind Grimdark Magazine.

http://www.deborahawolf.com/

29429675

The last Aturan King is dying, and as his strength fades so does his hold on sa and ka. Control of this power is a deadly lure; the Emperor stirs in his Forbidden City to the East, while deep in the Seared Lands, the whispering voices of Eth bring secret death. Eight men and women take their first steps along the paths to war, barely realizing that their world will soon face a much greater threat; at the heart of the world, the Dragon stirs in her sleep. A warrior would become Queen, a Queen would become a monster, and a young boy plays his bird-skull flute to keep the shadows of death at bay

 

That’s a wrap for today many many more posts will follow. I will always feature 5 people in the upcoming posts last thing I want is the TLDR comments.  I hope you’ll enjoy every post as we move a long and add many books to that ever growing TBR pile

And here’s a picture of a not so scary unicorn for Rob Matheny

Image result for scary unicorn

 

 

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “An introduction to the writers of the Grimdark group part 2

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: